Jim James – Know Til Now

My Morning Jacket is undeniably one of the greatest living live acts and frontman Jim James beautiful vocals are always a pure bliss to encounter, so no wonder why his debut full-length solo Regions of Light and Sound of God is one our most anticipated up-coming releases.

First single, “Know Till Now” is a melancholically soaked soul/funk piece, relatively far from MMJ’s late-career rock sound. It’s a trippy astral experience with a brilliant sax solo breakdown at the near end of the song. James plays every instrument on the album and is according to the press release influenced by Lynd Wards 1929 novel God’s Man. James wanted the album to sound like it came from a different place in time: “Perhaps sounding as if it were the past of the future, if that makes any sense—like a hazy dream that a fully-realized android or humanoid capable of thought might have when it reminisces about the good old days of just being a simple robot.”, James said in the press release.

Regions of Light and Sound of God is out 5th of February via ATO. Watch the video and album track list below.

Regions of Light and Sound of God:

01 State of the Art (A.E.I.O.U)
02 Know Til Now
03 Dear One
04 A New Life
05 Exploding
06 Of the Mother Again
07 Actress
08 All Is Forgiven
09 God’s Love to Deliver

2 thoughts on “Jim James – Know Til Now

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s