Video: The War on Drugs – Under Pressure


There are certain albums you just know will stay with you for a long time. For me, Lost In The Dream is one of those albums. It has the staying-power of a true rock classic and is one of the most earnest and life-reflective rock albums I’ve heard in ages. This is the pensive and highly atmospheric visuals for the magnificent, sprawling 9-minute opener “Under Pressure”.


Albums Of 2014 (Current Top 40)

TOP 40

As promised, here is the top list showing IFM’s current top 40 albums of 2014. This page is ongoing and will be updated as soon as new notable albums are released. This page is easily accessible in the main menu (to the left).

                                                                                                                                                                                             VIEW LIST  ⇒



IFM Relaunch / Songs of the Summer

First of all let me apologies to all of you who’ve wasted your time checking in on this blog lately. It’s been nearly two months since the latest blog post; a time spent weighting whether to bury it in the ground or start fresh and doing it more effective and less time consuming. As once stated in the mission statement, I started this blog to provide a venue for pushing, supporting and reviewing artists, bands and labels that create gripping and relevant music. I figured, since I’ve spent most of my life listening to music and sharing my opinion with my annoyed family and friends anyway, why not write and share for people that actually care. Now, two years later, I still love blogging just as much –  if not more than when I first started out.  I just needed to see if there still was room for it, as the curveballs of life keep hitting me harder than normally.

But to be able to continue doing this in sustainable way there needed to be a few changes. The layout/design is perhaps the most obvious one. Over the years I’ve changed the interface more times than I would like to admit, which probably pissed off more than a few readers. And in retrospect it hasn’t been a good move in terms of traffic growth, but with this new look I went for simplicity and accessibility. So get used to it. It’s here to stay. Probably.

So with that in mind, let me introduce you to the changes and why they needed to happen.

Continue reading


Dick Diver – New Name Blues


Melbourne’s solid four-piece Dick Diver certainly raised the bar on their latest track “New Name Blues”. It may start of in a typically unassuming, jangly manner, but soon enough the track slides into a beautifully orchestrated instrumental part comprised by airy saxophones tangled up in spacey, layered guitar work. It keeps echoing out into a chaotic, hallucinatory noise, barely touching the ground beneath.

It’s hard not to get impressed by prolific singer Al Montfort, more known for his fearless genre-hopping in bands like Total Control and UV Race (amongst others), but here, he slides into a slurred, laid-back hum, likely to draw comparisons to Mac DeMarco. Indeed, Montfort is having a brilliant year; Total Control just released an interesting new album Typical System that I still haven’t found the time to dive into, and now “New Name Blues” finds Dick Diver breaking into a larger conversation than before. But Montfort aside, the other band members Edwards, McKay and Hughes are putting on a glorious show, making “New Name Blues” an impressive game changer for the Australian jangle-punk outfit.



The Juan MacLean – A Place Called Space



After a string of striking and well-received 12”s, eminent DFA producer The Juan Maclean will release his first official album since 2009’s uneven but on occasion brilliant The Future Will Come. Spiraling cosmic synthesizers, classic Moroder-esque basslines and longtime collaborator and former LCD Sounsystem keyboardist Nancy Whang’s disco vocals sketch “A Place Called Space”, the first taste from In a Dream, The Juan Macleans third long-play to be released September 6. It’s far more hypnotic and psychedelic if compared to last year’s club-friendly happy-house of “Feels Like Moving”, but yet another proof why The Juan Maclean has become one of DFA’s most consistent weapons of carving out retro-futuristic ecstasy.



Rustie – Raptor



Glasgow’s electronic music producer Rustie is set to follow up his solid Glass Swords with a new album titled Green Language on legendary Warp Records later this summer. “Raptor” below is the first teaser and shows a much more frantic side of his aesthetics. The track yanks and bends until reaching one of the most solid drops I’ve heard since BBND’s “CS60”. Listen below.




Shabazz Palaces – #CAKE


Shabazz Palaces previous single ”They Come In Cold”, along with their perplexing 2011 album Black Up were instant favorites of mine. Now Ishmael Butler and his genre pushing, avant-rap collective returns with another twisted psychedelic cut from Lese Majesty, possibly my most anticipated album release this summer.

“#CAKE” is crowned by vintage electronic noise and acerbic electro beats (think Afrika Bambaata), while occasionally dropping into this weird, psychedelic electro-jazz groove that lets you catch your breath before the 808’s beam you back on Shabazz Palaces’ retro-futuristic vessel.

Lese Majesty is out July 29 via Sub Pop.